TikTok continues to focus on the safety of minors on the platform and is introducing updated privacy settings for community members between the ages of 13 and 17. It is done to help them make better use of the platform’s existing user safety tools. They will be available to users in the near future, says ITZine.
TikTok can only be used by users 13 years of age or older. TikTok also regularly updates its set of rules and tools to ensure a safe environment for users aged 13 to 17. So, all user accounts from 13 to 15 years old are private by default. Some features of the platform, such as personal correspondence and creating live broadcasts, are only available to members of the community over 16, and parents and guardians can control the actions of minors using the “Family Settings” function.
New rules for using the private messaging feature
Teens should be able to actively manage their own account privacy settings. Now, new users aged 16-17 will be prohibited by default from receiving private messages from other members of the community. To send a message to another person, a minor will have to independently change the automatically set privacy settings. Registered users who have not previously used the private messaging feature will receive a notification asking them to review and confirm their privacy settings regarding private messaging.
Raising awareness among teens about the privacy settings of published content
Making videos on TikTok is a fun and creative process. Users choose a theme, music, suitable effects. But it is equally important to choose those with whom the author plans to share the created content. So that teens don’t forget what privacy settings are available on the platform in relation to published content, users aged 13 to 15 will see a pop-up window before publishing their first video, asking them to choose with whom the user wants to share the content. Without specifying this information, the publication of the video will not be available, states NIXsolutions.
Creators will be able to decide who the content they create will be available to before publishing each video. Previously, TikTok made user accounts 13-15 years old by default private. Videos posted on private accounts can only be viewed by approved subscribers. The Stitch and Duet features are also not available to account holders under the age of 16.
Raise user awareness of who can download published videos
TikTok strives to provide users aged 16-17 with detailed information about the privacy settings of the published content. If a teenager decides to enable other users to download videos, they will receive a notification asking them to confirm their decision. The ability to download videos of users 13-15 years old is not available on the platform.
New settings for push notifications
TikTok supports the well-being of the platform’s community members by implementing tools such as a screen time control mode that can be enabled either by the user or by parents and guardians via Family Settings. TikTok is committed to helping the youngest users form good digital habits and regularly consults with leading experts on the development of the Youth Portal, Bullying Prevention Guide, and other tools to promote youth well-being. So, based on the recommendations of experts, TikTok will limit the time range when teens can receive push notifications. Users between the ages of 13 and 15 will not receive notifications after 9:00 PM, and community members between the ages of 16 and 17 will not receive notifications after 10:00 PM.
TikTok will continue to develop tools to ensure the safety, privacy, and well-being of the platform’s community. To learn more about TikTok’s work in supporting youth and families, see the Child Caregiver Guide.